Try Something New Every Month: Double Knitting

What’s that old saying? “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again…”

Well, I tried something new this month. And tried. And tried. And tried. I actually lost track of how many times I cast-on for this Longcat Scarf (Ravelry link).

This was my first time attempting double knitting and I made the mistake of just skimming a few Youtube videos because it looked easy enough. Well, it’s not. I continually ended up with purl wraps on the wrong side of whichever side I was working. That doesn’t look good…

IMG_6280

 

Then all of a sudden I had a lightbulb moment and it all made sense and I was doing it! It was working! And then I couldn’t keep track of the chart because I was distracted and counting wrong and it was all terrible and I had to frog it again.

IMG_6286

I decided this was going to have to be a quiet at-home project, at least for the start, and I took an evening and tried. Again. A few more times. And  for seemingly no special reason it worked! I made a cat butt!

Sure, there’s an oops-stitch there, but I think it looks like a heart on the cat’s knee so I’m okay with that…

FullSizeRender 2FullSizeRender

Are you doing a TSNEM project for February? You can find the link-up here!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

