Try Something New Every Month: Free-motion quilting

And so it began…IMG_4718

On a whim, just before Christmas, I set out to my local quilt shop and decided I was going to DO THIS. There were a lot of options of feet to buy, ranging from this $17 one to a fancier $55 option, so I opted for the entry level price for my entry level skills.

Oddly, this first experiment was probably the best one for my first evening…

IMG_4721

Quickly it all went to hell with tension/speed/OMGWHATAMIDOING…

IMG_4727

“Eyelashing” sounds so cute…not when you’re free-motion quilting though…

IMG_4728

Yeah, still wonky. COME ON.

IMG_4733

I sped up my machine speed a bunch and started using my pedal so I could start/stop as needed since using the on/off button isn’t in my muscle memory yet…

IMG_4735

And since that was a “success” I got the idea that I could trace a spiral. LOL NOPE.

IMG_4738

Here’s the first night’s stack of discarded attempts…

IMG_4740

I put my normal foot back on my machine and called it quits for a few days.

I also went to the library and stocked up on the following titles:

Then I set out to try again, this time with something I would have otherwise never touched again–my May TSNEM first attempt at foundation paper piecing…funny purple hedgehog!

IMG_5043

This went moderately better than previous attempts. And gave me some courage to try out free-motion quilting on a bigger project…my Under the Stars camping quilt!

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.42.58 AM

One problem though: everything went south pretty quickly while attempt free motion quilting today. 

Eyelashing like woah…

   
I don’t even know. Ugh. 

  

The sad best results from today…

 
So, no. I am not touching my beautiful quilt top with free-motion quilting. Not without a LOT more practice anyway. 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

