Small divided sewing desk basket tutorial

I was gifted some amazing Heather Ross fabric in the Instagram #getyourquilywishesgranted tag, and I was feeling rather inspired to make myself something with some of the bits given to me from the Nursery Versary line. I’ve been wanting a little divided basket for my sewing desk for sometime to hold all the little odds and ends I like to keep readily available, so I set out to make one. Since I was going through all the effort anyway I figured I could write out a little tutorial for anyone else interested.

This finished little organizer measures 5.5″L x 3″W x 2.25″H.

Take a piece of normal computer paper and measure 2.5″ squares off of the corners. I drew out the dashed 1/4″ seam lines just so my brain could understand what I was doing.

FullSizeRender 4

Cut out two pieces from this pattern–an outside and a lining. I did the same for both.

IMG_4664

Then cut 4 rectangles the same size as the flaps. These will make outside pockets.

FullSizeRender 6

To finish the top edge of the pockets I like to press the edge under twice…

FullSizeRender 3

Then top-stitch it down…

FullSizeRender 2

Now take each piece with right-sides together and sew from corner to corner. I finished the bottom raw edge with my serger, though you could zigzag cut it, or just leave it raw.

IMG_4668

Here’s what it looks like with all 4 pockets sewn along their bottom edges…

IMG_4669

Flip them all up the right way and press.

IMG_4670

Then stitch up the corners so that you create a box…

IMG_4671

 

Inside out box…

IMG_4672

Right-side out box! Press all the edges so it stands up nice. At this point I also aded a few stitches in the middle of the long pockets to separate the sides a bit.

IMG_4674

Cut a 3.5″W x 6″L rectangle from your lining fabric…

IMG_4662

IMG_4675

Fold it right-sides together and stitch all the way around, all but a little bit at the end, and notch the corners.

IMG_4677

Then flip it right-side out and top stitch all around 3 of the 4 sides.

IMG_4678

Sew it down across the middle of your lining. I did two rows.

IMG_4680

Then sew up the corners so it creates your inside box!

IMG_4681

I couldn’t think of a better way to sew up the sides of the dividing panel, so I just pinched it in a straight line and hand sewed it all together.

IMG_4682

Fit the inside lining with divider into the outside box with the pockets, fold over the edges, and clip/pin in place.

IMG_4683

Top-stitch it down, and ta-da!

FullSizeRender 5

Yay!

FullSizeRender 7

Beautifully in use!

FullSizeRender

Please show me if you make one too!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

