Try Something New Every Month: Tatting

Let me start by saying: OMG TATTING IS HARD.

I received an amazing hand-me-down of tatting supplies from a friend. Inside of these vintage tins were oodles of threads and shuttles and shuttles with bobbins and all sorts of weird things I had no idea how to use. Also inside the tins were some amazing little tatted and lacy pieces…

Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 8.10.34 PM

I started with a one-on-one lesson with my slightly tipsy aunt after a Thanksgiving dinner. While this gave me the basic idea of how to hold the thread, and how my hands should move, I didn’t actually successfully do anything during this session.

Sitting at home alone on my couch with these tutorials from Tatted Treasures I got going…a little…

Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 8.00.57 PM

Getting to this point took me about AN HOUR. Yeesh.

In all honestly I had to put this project idea down. ‘Tis the season for having too much to do and not enough hours in the day to commit properly to such a fiddly little craft. It is definitely something I intend to pick up again in the future.

I am proud that I did complete this monthly challenge of trying something new throughout 2015!

January: Entrelac knitting

February: Knit Latvian braid

March: Calligraphy

April: Embroidery stitches

May: Foundation paper piecing

June: SELLING/BUYING A HOUSE OMG (I know this doesn’t really count, haha!)

July: Drunkard’s path quilt blocks

August: Mitre saw

September: Orange peel quilt block

October: Finish a BIG quilt

November: Drafting an EPP pattern

December: Tatting

 

See what other bloggers made this month:

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. An hour?! I was thinking I wanted to try this but… ain’t nobody with two young have time for that. Those sample pieces are gorgeous though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

