Try Something New Every Month: Drafting an EPP pattern

I’ve been on an English paper piecing kick lately, largely working on my huge ferris wheel circles lap quilt, but throwing in the occasional hexagon as well. We were heading out of town for a long trip and I knew I wanted something fun and new and portable, so I set out to draft my own EPP pattern.

It started with a trip to one of my favorite local quilt stores, where it turns out they now know me by both my first and last name. I’ll take that as a good thing 😉

Then I sat down with All Points Patchwork from my local library and got to drafting. It was fun to pull out a ruler and protractor and compass! I haven’t done that since high school.

  And here’s what I came up with after some doodling and a lot of erasing…

It was far from perfect, but I had hoped that I could fudge its imperfections a bit, and overall I’ve accomplished that…

Screen Shot 2015-10-25 at 12.55.00 PM

It’s not perfectly flat, but I’m hoping with some pressing, and perhaps some forgiving hand quilting, it’ll soon look great as a throw pillow for our sofa 🙂

Edit 11/4: All done!

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 9.29.15 AM

See what other bloggers tried!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I’m just reading this now – I didn’t realize that was your own pattern! Super cool, it turned out great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

