“Favorite Things” Quilt

This idea came to me toward the end of Lily’s year of ballet lessons which finished with her recital dance song being “Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music. I happened to see a fabric with raindrops and then a fabric with roses and it all clicked in my head and I knew I just HAD to make this quilt.

Raindrops on rose and whiskers on kittens,
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens,
Silver white winters that melt into springs,
These are a few of my favorite things.

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple strudels,
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles,
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings,
These are a few of my favorite things.

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes,
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes,
Silver white winters that melt into springs,
These are a few of my favorite things.

When the dog bites, when the bee stings,
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad!

I don’t want it to be a literal exact translation from the song necessarily, but I want to incorporate as much as I can from the song. A lot of these will be relatively easy, but I’ll probably forgo schnitzel 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-07-11 at 8.55.13 PM
This first one was my first bethlehem star block and I was instantly in love.

Screen Shot 2015-07-11 at 8.56.00 PM
This block added “whiskers on kittens” to the “raindrops on roses.”

Screen Shot 2015-07-11 at 8.56.24 PM

And here’s “when the bee stings.”

I have two more blocks planned (a paper pieced bow for “cream colored dressed with blue satin sashes” and an apple for “apple strudel”). I also know I’d like to do a flying geese block for the “wild geese” line. The rest I have ideas bouncing around, but nothing solid just yet. It’s fun to watch this unfold!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

