Try Something New Every Month: some embroidery for April!

So, I’ve embroidered before in my life, sure, but I pretty much just hacked at any kind of satin stitch or backstitch with no real regard to actual embroidery patterns or techniques. For THIS project I was determined to actually do it nicely.

To start, I bought a pack of Aunt Martha’s Hot Iron Embroidery Transfers pretty much just for this bird design because I love it so much. I mean COME ON; it’s adorable!

IMG_6957

And okay, I love it, but I don’t know about putting it on a shirt šŸ™‚

IMG_6958

The instructions for the transfer process are pretty straight forward. Iron your fabric, put your design face-down, iron again. It transferred quite quickly and was easy.

IMG_6960

IMG_6961

Then came the fun of picking out colors. I don’t have a super extensive collection of embroidery thread, but I certainly had enough to make this pretty!

IMG_6964

Then I referenced Sublime Stitching’s tutorials to get started…mostly to make sure I was in fact doing the backstitch properly,Ā and eventually to do a real honest-to-goodness french knot!

IMG_7012IMG_7010

IMG_7028

I worked and worked and finally late one night it was done! In all its wrinkly badly-lit glory!

IMG_7039

The whole time I was working on it I was *pretty* sure it would become a pillow, and a trip through my fabric stash determine yes, yes it would. This was also my first time doing anything log-cabin-y for fabric piecing.

IMG_7047

And ta-da! A new overly pretty pillow for our sofa.

IMG_7050 IMG_7052

We better hurry up and buy a house that has a sewing room for me so all of this overly-pretty stuff can live somewhere šŸ™‚

See what other bloggers tried this month!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

