A new year

I’ve never much cared for the New Year holiday. I don’t see it as anything incredibly significant, just another minute passing to another day that so happens to be in another month to another year. It is a good time to be reminded of the past 12 months though and reflect, and look forward on what’s to come. And of course it comes with inspiration to make ourselves better in one way or another, but resolutions fail so much that I hate to call them that.

This year I’m looking forward to watching Lily turn more into a kid and be less of a toddler. I can already see the transformation beginning.

I’m also eager to start tackling our long list of home improvements to make this house more enjoyable to live in. I like our house–I really do–but there are just a few things that need to be added or changed up and it will just be that much better.

We’re also switching up how we eat. We’ve fallen into some routines that are good recently and some that aren’t. I’m excited to get rid of the bad food habits. We’ve already enrolled in a weekly produce co-op (sharing the box with a friend) and I’ve found sources for pork, chicken, and eggs; cheese; and milk–all local, all humane, all awesome. Now I just need to actually buy the food, y’know, and keep eating it.

And physical laziness…I want to remedy that, obviously, and I want to take baby steps otherwise I know I’ll fall flat way too quickly. Slow and steady and hopefully some new habits will be formed.

We grew a lot in 2011–literally and figuratively–in about every sense of the word. Here’s to 2012!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

